CTL GuidesTeaching and Learning ToolsCanvas Studio Studio AccountHow do I share media with a user in Canvas Studio?

How do I share media with a user in Canvas Studio?

How do I share media with a user in Canvas Studio?

You can share a video or audio file with any user in your institution's account and allow them view or edit rights. Users can view shared media in the Shared with Me drop-down link. You can change or remove sharing permissions for media at any time.

If you allow a user to view a video or audio file, the user can view the media, have access to the sharing settings embed code and public link, share the media with others, remove themselves from having access to view the media, the details, and comments.

If you allow a user to edit a video or audio file, the user has all permissions allowed as if that user had originally uploaded the media file, including deleting the media, editing details and options, and viewing analytic insights.

This lesson shows you how to share media directly from the My Uploads page. However, when you own media or a user has shared media with you, sharing options are also available when viewing a video. 

Notes: 

  • Currently, you cannot share media with a user until Canvas Studio verifies the user's account in a course enrollment. Verifications are made when the user views embedded Studio media in a Canvas course. Additionally, you can only share media with users in your Canvas courses.
  • Any quizzes added to a video will not be included when the video is shared.

Canvas tutorial below: