CTL GuidesTeaching and Learning ToolsZoom Zoom How do I manage the Waiting Room in Zoom?

How do I manage the Waiting Room in Zoom?

Waiting Rooms are useful for virtual office hours and advising. Use the Waiting Room anytime you need to manage when participants join your hosted meeting.

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees one by one or hold all attendees in the waiting room and admit them all at once. You can send all participants to the waiting room when joining your meeting or only guests, participants who are not on your Zoom account or are not logged in.

Participants will see the following screen when joining a meeting with Waiting Room enabled:

Activate Waiting Rooms for an individual meeting

Before you can enable Waiting Room for an individual meeting, you must enable it in your meeting settings.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Meetings.
  3. Click a meeting topic to edit it or schedule a new meeting.
  4. Under Meeting Options, check Enable Waiting Room.

Have you created a ZOOM Pro Account with HSU?  Please click here for help creating an account.

Click Save.

Using Waiting Room

The Zoom Help Center has detailed steps for using Waiting Rooms for Mac, PC and mobile users.

Visit the Zoom Help Center for more information on using the Waiting Room with your device.

Customizing the Waiting Room

You can customize the waiting room title, logo, and description at an account, group, or user level.

Note: You will need to enable waiting room before you have the option to customize it.

Visit the Zoom Help Center for more information on customizing the waiting room.